Tor Dot Com Rejection!

So, several months ago I sent a piece to Tor.com for publication. 

If you haven’t checked it out, you should. It’s an excellent geek-community, with fantastic fiction, and great writing. It took a while for them to get back to me, but they mentioned it would, so that’s okay. It was a rejection.

Also okay. At the end of the form-rejection though, there was this:

“Please send us more of your stories in the future. We’ve recently restructured, and we now have increasingly better response times!”

And I found myself fixated on that. Some magazines and sites specify that if they say ‘send us more’, they mean it. It’s an indication that they found the quality of writing suitable but for whatever reason, didn’t want that particular piece, whether because it didn’t quite fit the theme of their next issue or the subject matter had been covered by another selected submission – whatever. They’d genuinely like to see more.

I wasn’t sure if that was the case with Tor, but since it could actually mean something, I thought what the hell, why not ask? So I did. I got a response a day or so later, and I kind of loved it. Figured I’d share it.

Dear Mr. Sakr,

 We do say it often, though not always. But practice not the art of rejectomancy, my friend, for it’s a dark art! There’s just no telling whether we’ll need the story you send us by reading into what we say about other stories in the past. :) 
 
Not exactly what I wanted to hear, but I shouldn’t have needed to hear it in the first place, is the point made. I laughed. It was a pretty great response and I’m glad I got it. If anyone has any good rejection stories to share, feel free to do so. They’re not always terrible or hurtful, and I often find them informative. 
Leave a Reply

